A Darker Shade of Magic: V. E. Schwab

So… I got through nearly half of the book, and I still can’t find myself caring about any of the characters.
There’s an inordinate amount of description; for every one thing Kell does, like open a door to another London or put on his coat-with-many-sides, there’s like two or three paragraphs of backstory and random worldbuilding. This is fine if you do it occasionally but when every other sentence is explanation as to why he’s doing this thing orhow this thing pertains to other things, the story becomes really convoluted and dull. Very tedious to read. Not at all enjoyable.

I didn’t like Lila at all. I thought I started liking her, but then… nope. She has a very hardened personality, which is fine and dandy, but it didn’t sit with me. I struggled similarly with Feyre from the “A Court of Thorns and Roses” series. Both of these characters were unfriendly, patronizing, and toed the line between prideful and bullying. Lila kills someone in the first few chapters and just walks off thinking about how she needs a new place to stay. The guy definitely deserved it but she faced no internal struggles at all; there was nothing. She just stabbed him in the gut and then toodle-oo, off we go. And, funnily enough, with all the detail the author poured into world-building, she never established whether the world that they were in tolerated that sort of stuff. Like, is that a normal occurrence in “Gray London”?
I’m getting a feeling that Lila was supposed to be this really kickbutt female protagonist, but… strong women are always a favorite of mine and she just seemed… flat. Her role in the story was unconvincing. I didn’t find her relatable or likable.

The worlds that were established were kind of flimsy. We’re thrust into three different versions of London: White, Gray, and Red. Kell hails from Red London, and Lila from Gray. White is a Mad-Max-esque death circus, where magic is dying or eating people, I’m not sure. It’s run by two psycho twins, as well as the only other magician with powers similar to Kell: Holland. I didn’t find the tale immersive because there was so much to absorb, and we weren’t given enough information to shape the world. I mean, I know that someone may try to argue that you’re supposed to “use your imagination” but it’s difficult to do that when there’s nearly nothing to go off of.

Kell was developing into some sort of character, but any curiosity I held for him was solely based off of his background. Personality-wise, he was uninteresting. What were his goals? His ambitions? I was almost halfway through the book and I had no idea what he wanted, nor what he was like. It seemed like most of Kell was just “Kell is doing this” or “Kell is traveling” or “Kell is smuggling stuff,” but there’s no trace of an identity. He’s the “wise-older-brother” stereotype. He’d make a great side-kick, but I couldn’t be bothered to care for him as our main protagonist.

O yah. Another thing. Prince Rhy or whatever. He’s like the token queer character. It’s good to have representation, but Rhy was so flat. He was the stereotypical gay/lesbian/bi/pan person that shows up in modern-day literature (I call them checklist characters– the author writes them in so that they can get brownie points for being inclusive, but ultimately, they don’t matter to the story and they have no persona whatsoever). I only saw a little bit of him, so maybe he got fleshed out more, but I mean… halfway through the book and all I knew was that he was gay and he likes having sex. And he’s sad that Kell doesn’t feel like he belongs in their family, which, granted, was the beginning of some sort of backstory. But he didn’t come off as important; he didn’t come off as anything other than flamboyantly gay. This is fine, if it’s an aspect of his personality, but it’s not good to have queer characters who are only there to be “the queer character”.

The only people I was interested in were the twins and Holland. I thought that Holland would be our primary antagonist, but it turns out that he’s being controlled by the twins? I think? Anyways, I was hoping to see more of him but if that requires sifting through the rest of the book, count me out. Athos and Astrid were bizarre, but they didn’t seem very original. They were the weirdo, power-hungry sibling monarchs. I don’t know. I felt like they weren’t that compelling.

It had one thing going for it: the conceptualization behind magic. I think that Ms. Schwab had an interesting thing going and you know, maybe I’ll pick this book up again when I have nothing to read– but honestly, there are so many better books out there right now. Still, A Darker Shade of Magic was rated pretty high, so I’m probably just an outlier.

😦
I’m kind of sad because the beginning definitely had strong Howl’s Moving Castle vibes.
I think that my main criticism of this book is that it moves at a snail’s pace. It is so slow. Unless you’re willing to sit through pages and pages of exposition, I wouldn’t recommend it.

Leave a Reply

